Who are the 12 Gods of Olympus?

Like us on Facebook!

12 Olympians

If you like it, please share!

The 12 Gods of Olympus (or the 12 Olympians) were the main deities who were worshiped in ancient Greece and according to mythology they resided on the top of Mount Olympus in Greece.

In fact, in ancient Greece there was not only one particular group of twelve, but there were principal and smaller gods and others who were worshiped locally.

The 12 Olympians are (most commonly considered):

  • Zeus
  • Hera
  • Poseidon
  • Apollo
  • Athena
  • Aphrodite
  • Ares
  • Hermes
  • Artemis
  • Demeter
  • Hestia
  • Hephaestus

Although Hades was a major ancient Greek god, he resided in the underworld, far from Olympus, and thus was not usually considered to be one of the Olympians.