What was the Treaty of Sevres?

Like us on Facebook!

If you like it, please share!

The Treaty of Sevres was signed on 10 August 1920 in Sèvres, France, with the aim of bringing peace between the Ottoman Empire and Allied (and associated) Powers after the First World War.

  • It was one of a series of treaties signed by the Central Powers after their defeat in World War I (where Turkey also belonged).
  • It essentially signaled the beginning of the partitioning of the Ottoman Empire and its ultimate annihilation. The terms included the renunciation of all non-Turkish territory and its cession to the Allies, the winners of the First World War.
  • On behalf of the Ottoman Empire, it was accepted by sultan Mehmed VI who was trying to save his throne but was rejected by Grand National Assembly. This group under the leadership of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk used this conflict to proclaim government and abolish the empire.
  • In particular, the treaty led to the Turkish War of Independence in which Atatürk led the Turkish nationalists to fight those who signed the Treaty of Sevres.
  • This led to a new treaty, the Treaty of Lausanne of 1923, in which Turkish sovereignty was maintained through the establishment of the modern Republic of Turkey.