Why are there different seasons?

Like us on Facebook!

If you like it, please share!

The season is one of the major divisions of the year and is generally based on homogeneous climatic characteristics. The year is typically divided into four seasons: Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter.

The cause of the occurrence of the seasons is the fact that the Earth’s axis is not vertical at its level of rotation around the Sun. Therefore, at any time during the day, one hemisphere of the planet is more directly exposed to the Sun than the other.

Exposure to the sun’s rays changes as the Earth turns around the sun. As a result, at any time, there are different seasons in the northern and southern hemispheres. For example, when there is summer in the Northern Hemisphere, in the Southern Hemisphere is winter. Similarly, when there is spring in the Northern Hemisphere, in the Southern Hemisphere is autumn, and vice versa. In areas near Ecuador there is much less difference between summer and winter.

Watch here a video that explains how Earth rotates and creates the seasons