What do you know about Equator?

Like us on Facebook!

If you like it, please share!

Equator is halfway between the North Pole and the South Pole, at 0 degrees latitude.

An equator divides a planet into a northern hemisphere and a southern hemisphere. The Earth’s perimeter (at the equator) is 40,075 kilometers, of which 78,7% passes over water and the remaining 21,3% above land.

This means that theoretically, if there was a way to travel around earth on Equator at a speed of 100 kilometers per hour, it would take 400 hours and 45 minutes, or a bit more than 16.5 days!

Equator passes through 11 countries (Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, São Tomé and Príncipe, Gabon, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia and Indonesia) and the Atlantic and Pacific Ocean.

It also passes through 2 other countries, consisting of islands (Maldives, Kiribati), but without passing over land.